Sooners Win 2022 NCAA Softball Championship!

Photo Credit: Sooner Softball via espn

Winning 5th title in 9 years

OKC, Ok June, 9 ( The Oklahoma Post) –

Sooner Nation is feeling great tonight as the Oklahoma Sooner Softball team wins the 2022 NCAA National Title. On Thursday, the No. 1 Oklahoma Sooners defeated the Texas Longhorns (47-22-1) a score of 10-5 to claim the Women’s College World Series Championship. With the national title now in hand, OU finishes the season with an overall record of 59-3 (.950). It is their 5th title in 9 years becoming a dynasty only matched by Alabama Football in the previous 10 years.

A victory over Texas makes it even sweeter, as one of Oklahoma’s three losses came at the hands of the Longhorns on April 16, 2022, by an 8-1 margin. Texas was unseeded and felt snubbed, since rolling to victories via an upset of No. 4 seed Arkansas, Washington, and Oklahoma State on their way to the final series. Texas was a valiant foe and deserved their accolades coming into the game. However, it was Jocelyn Alo and other Seniors who played their hearts out, finishing out their legendary careers as champions.

2022 Softball Roster

#Player (22)ClassPosB-THtHometownHigh School
78Alo, JocelynSRUTR-R5-8Hauula, HIJames Campbell
98Bahl, JordynFRPR-R5-8Papillion, NEPapillion LaVista
0Boone, RylieJROFL-L5-3Tulsa, OKOwasso
33Brito, AlyssaSOUTR-R5-7Tustin, CAPacifica
24Coleman, JaydaSOUTL-L5-9The Colony, TXThe Colony
42Coleman, TuriyaFRUTL-R5-7Houston, TXC.E. King
27Coor, HannahFROFR-R5-9Yorba Linda, CAEsperanza
12Donihoo, MackenzieJRUTR-R5-3Mustang, OKMustang
22Elam, LynnsieSRCR-R5-9Chickasha, OKChickasha
21Green, GraceSRUTR-R5-9Oakdale, CAOakdale
88Guthrie, EmmyFRPR-R5-7Lone Grove, OKLone Grove
9Hansen, KinzieJRCR-R5-11Norco, CANorco
23Jennings, TiareSOIFR-R5-8San Pedro, CASt. Anthony’s
20Johns, JanaSRIFR-R5-9Calhoun, GACalhoun
43Lilio, QuinceeFRUTL-R5-7Oceanside, CAGreat Oak
3Lyons, GraceSRIFR-R5-7Peoria, AZSandra Day O’Connor
19May, NicoleSOPR-R5-11Pleasanton, CAFoothill
13McAdoo, MacyJRPR-R6-0Tuttle, OKTuttle
17Nugent, SophiaFRUTR-R5-9Seal Beach, CALos Alamitos
5Snow, TaylonSRUTL-R5-5Chino Hills, CAChino Hills
7Trautwein, HopeSRPR-R5-11Pflugerville, TXHendrickson
11Waitman, AlexxFRIFL-R5-7Tuttle, OKCrossings Christian

Alo spoke through tears after the game “I love this game, I’m sad to be walking away from it, but I’m happy that I ended on top, and I am so blessed to be on this journey that God has blessed me with.”. Alo didn’t do it alone as Kinzie Hansen had her back all game as she reached on an infield single to shortstop to get the party started. Then again in the 5th when she homered to left, ushering in G. Lyons and A. Brito to score.

The bats were hot against the Longhorns after falling behind 2-0 early in the game, to score 10 unanswered until the 7th when Texas closed the gap to 10-5.

Grace Lyons three one-shot was her 23rd of the Year, in the top of the 6th inning. The first pitch swinging, a three-run shot, put the Sooners up 10-2. Her second HR of the World Series.

Ace freshman pitcher got the win, Jordy Bahl, to finish the season 22-1. In the biggest game of her young prolific collegiate career, the freshman went 4, gave up 2 runs, and struck out 2 Longhorns while giving up just 4 hits. Nicole May and senior Hope Trautwein finished the game for the Sooners in high fashion.

J. Bahl (W, 22-1)4.042232055-351.09
N. May2.110002031-181.30
H. Trautwein0.213320120-70.70

Alo left the game in the bottom of the 7th to close out her career to a standing ovation as tears of joy fell for the Hawaii native.

Patty Gasso now has 6 National Titles, 3rd most behind Sharron Backus and Mike Candrea. Earlier this season, it became obvious that Oklahoma was on track to break most Division I records, the only thing that could have possibly kept this squad from making a case for being the greatest team of all time was the possibility of not winning a national title. Patty Gasso, put that question to rest in a tough-fought season. This is the best team in college softball, of all time!

(Writing by Robbie Robertson; Editing by Robbie Robertson)

Copyright 2022 The Oklahoma Post